Mapping/Sphere of Influence?

Part through procrastination, largely by interest, I’ve become curious about the relationships among geography, my career, and my personal experience. What else to do but put it all in Google Earth, right?

So, as you may have just assumed if you’ve discovered that I’m college faculty, I’m currently looking for a new job. (I’m employed on a one year contract and on the losing trickle-down of statewide budget cuts. Although, if not for that there would probably be another reason.) So… I wonder if it’s possible to predict where I might go to teach next year based on where I, my art, or people I know have been.

Here are the maps (I’m only doing the continental U.S.):

Places I’ve been
Places I’ve been

Places where I have friends
Places where I gots people

Places my art has been
Places where my art has been

Places where I’ve lived
Places where I’ve lived

Jobs I’ve applied to
Places where I’ve applied/am applying for jobs

So, where might I or my art work end up next? In the voids? In a place with the most dense overlay of markers? Or does it matter at all for a guy who doesn’t get to leave his computer on most days?

Leave a Reply

