blog as sketchbook

It’s one of many possibilities – the blog as sketchbook. Writers blog as a journal, so I know this must be the same.

Some artists use their blogs as online representation – i.e. for “real” work. I already have a site for that and have kinda sorta tried online galleries and Flickr, etc. A public sketchbook interests me though… a suggestion for a substantive idiom in emergent “new media” culture… as maybe even a bridge between people like myself who learned art without computers and my students’ generation whom pundits have declared to view privacy differently than I do.

In an exploration and (I think) constructive use of student guinea-pigs, I’ve asked all 5 of my advanced computer graphics students and all, what 8?, of my web design students to maintain sketchbook blogs this semester. They’ll be linked here as each one gets started.

So, to be a good sport, here are some of my sketches – qualified as things that probably kept my mind going but won’t at any time become finished art works. They were made in Facebook’s “Graffiti” app – a challenge in itself – in an earlier and small stab at “public” sketching. I call them “dichotomies”.

dieterroth.jpgjoanmitchell.jpgmoles.jpgplato.jpgpolish.jpgpollock.jpg

When I figure out if I can do the “click to expand” link, I will.

Leave a Reply

