Traffic and Labels

Some of you may have seen (although obviously not too many of you) that for about a week or so I had a slew of little link buttons in my right-hand column.  I was, for what reason I’m not sure, curious just how much traffic blog directories could send this way.  So, I registered/submitted to everything I could find on the first 3 pages of a Google search.  And, if that directory should happen to have code for a link-back button ready to paste into a text widget, I put that little guy right in there.  I felt like a NASCAR driver for a minute there, what with all those logos and everything.

The result – correllation or causation – traffic plummeted…

In any case, all the branding made me feel dirty.  So, I took them all off – except for the one blog search/directory I actually use (albeit rarely), Technorati.

In other news, I’ve been trying to stay off the internet and instead focus on making art.  It goes slowly though.

Leave a Reply

