If You See it Enough it will be True

For a lighter note today, I present you with: Best Photoshop Hoaxes – A History of Doctoring History.

911 Tourist Parodies

One thing is that sometime, shortly after it becomes your job to teach people how to make these things, it’s just not fun to email your friends pictures of them with their heads on other people’s bodies any more.  (oh to be unjaded…)  That doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate some wit when I see it though; such as crossing memes…

It all reminds me of an exhibition of taxidermied fabrications of imaginary animals/hoaxes(?) I saw at the Museu d’Art Contemporani de Barcelona several years ago.  I tried my darnedest to find a link to that exhibition, or the, I think German, taxidermists who made them, but the best I could do was this: http://www.trendhunter.com/photos/17669/3. If any of you know something about it, your insight would be appreciated.

OK, OK, well, I guess if I’m on the subject of fake things, and given that I don’t feel like mentioning politics again (ahem, lies lies lies lies, people believe lies, ahem), I should also give you a link to this: The Freakiest, Most Out-There LIFT08 Presentation on the Wired Blog Network.

One Response

  1. Those taxidermy creatures are Bavarian cryptids called Wolpertinger! More on them here: http://www.trendhunter.com/trends/bavarian-cryptid-wolpertinger

Leave a Reply

