Oh, Art…, Right…

Well, that’s the end of my string of posts on cultural constructs arising through politics.  It’s enough.  I’m done.

In any case, I titled this blog “Teaching Artist“, not “Teaching Cultural Anthropologist”.  A person can only opine off-subject for so long before everyone realizes there are smarter people to listen to on that subject.

The inverse side of the issue, though, is that I haven’t come across any interesting, blog-worthy art for a while.  Dare I say it, I may even have hit a period in which I’m not very interested in art, at all.  That happens.  I know it happens to most artists.  I presume everyone’s passion for their field, in any field, ebbs and flows.  It’s OK.  I’m old enough to know that for me, it always comes back.

As it is, I haven’t gotten out to see any real, live art for a couple of weeks.  And, in that time the blogosphere has brought me mostly images of pretentious, pretentious-through-anti-pretentiousness, and conceptually “forced” art works.  Perhaps the internet has also hit a negative ebb.  In the least I’ve cleaned out my bookmarks to make room for some new art blogs.  For a while I had so many that if I opened them in tabs all at once, Firefox would sort of sputter, like it had been punched in the gut.  I’m looking forward to rebuilding the list.

In the spirit of moving forward, here’s some art I’d like to see:

painting by Masakatsu Sashie

painting by Masakatsu Sashie

Found on Daily Serving, it’s a painting by Masakatsu Sashie, who is having a show at GR2 Gallery in L.A.

On the level of a personal review, I’m interested in the image because I’m drawn to investigate it even though it is, as a whole, characteristically quite different than the types of images that I’m usually drawn to.  That’s to say I like it because I like it even though I normally wouldn’t.  Eloquent, huh?

There is, one, the image’s dream-like quality; surreal in the popular sense of the word, although not in the jarring opposition to rational modes that characterises the historical, art discourse of “surrealism”.  And, sure, blue skies…  once-happy colors on a rainy day.  Moreover, I really enjoy the specificity of the imagery.  I find myself engaging it as I would a good photograph.  It is unmistakably Japan − or without the kana and “Pachinko”, at least ultra-modern, ultra-urban East Asia.  The orb floating beyond the pile of trashed electronics seems to project from within itself all the shapes, smog-stained colors, and chaotic spill of life into the built environment that defines urban Japan to me.

On the artist’s web site, there appears to be a progression from darker (as in having a lot of black), overly-labored images to this more seamless style of depiction and its colors-of-happiness-grayed-out-by-urban-concrete-and-smog palette.  My attraction is exclusively to the newer works.

Leave a Reply

