Shephard Fairey is the Vanilla Ice of Guerilla Art

The realization came to me during my commute home last night when “Under Pressure” came on the radio.

Mr. Fairey is even in the midst of his own sampling/plagiarism law suit.

Vanilla Ice, as you remember, continued a long tradition of awkwardly forcing white faces onto music that would continue to for some time be performed better by black people.

Think there’s a consumer niche that wants to buy MC Hammer records but has otherwise refused to move forward from Reconstruction?  Man, have I got a guy for you.  And you should see his hair!

Anyway, when “Under Pressure” comes on, I still sing “Ice Ice Baby” until David Bowie takes over.

I even tried to learn that side-to-side step with my pants rolled tight, when I was 13.

And thus it all hit me.

I had read this earlier in the day yesterday: How phony is Shepard Fairey? (found on Arts Journal).

You know, we all love Banksy and our leftist warriors for the public visual space.  May I refer you to the always delightful Pixelator.  And, of course Knitta Please.

But after Jean-Michel Basquiat gave us all that trouble back in the eighties…

Ugh, new money.

I think they’ve got their guy now though

A Designer and an Artist!  How 2008!

“When I copy, it’s a reference.  If you don’t get it, it’s cuz yer not as smart as yer supposed to be.”  “Duh.”

I think I’ve already mentioned that Mr. Fairey’s art is, at it’s root, a more professional execution of an assignment I’ve given Intro to Computer Art students as a first assignment using Adobe Illustrator.  Moreover, I inherited the assignment from Debra Davis, who was my supervisor at the University of Toledo.

So, at that, I would like us all to remember all of the things that people want from their art world that are not Art.  Truth is, they already have them and you’re just mean if you want to take away the things that make them happy.  We can all take a deep breath, smile and, relax.  Some dude has figured out how to update Patrick Nagel to become more popular than the rest of us, so good for him.  If you became an artist because you thought it would lead you to fame and fortune, you’re probably not smarter than anyone you feel like criticizing.

One Response

  1. If you like Patrick Nagel’s artwork, please visit a new forum set up by his fans:
    http://patricknagel.lefora.com/forum/

Leave a Reply

